Jubilee Stores Studios is an artist studios and participatory arts complex, owned and run by Quay Arts. It is located just along the river from Quay Arts and houses 7 artist studios and hosts a range of courses and workshops.
Built in 1924, the building was used to store grain from a miller company in Newport, James Thomas and Co. Ltd. The lease to the building was sold in the mid 1930s which was soon taken over by the British Road Services to store various goods. By the mid 1970s the building fell into a state of disrepair before being taken over by Quay Arts to be used as a participatory arts complex.
The conversion and establishment of Jubilee Stores Studios came after Quay Arts’ successful capital grant from the Arts Council England’s National Lottery Board for £1,100,500 to redevelop the Centre in 1996.
Jubilee Stores Studios provides emerging artists and makers a base from which they can develop and grow their artistic practice, whilst also providing the Island with a unique cultural dynamic through developing the creative industries. Resident artists create work in a wide range of media, from printmaking to digital media, jewellery to visual arts and crafts. For more information visit the Jubilee Stores Studios website.
Resident artists can offer courses and workshops through Quay Arts’ seasonal programme, as well as independently. Please click here to view Quay Arts’ current courses and workshops.